Re: Table compression

anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (Anton Ertl)
30 Sep 2005 02:01:09 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
table compression rboland@unb.ca (Ralph Boland) (2001-11-04)
Re: table compression Olivier.Ridoux@irisa.fr (Olivier Ridoux) (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression hannah@schlund.de (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression heng@Ag.arizona.edu (Heng Yuan) (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression mickunas@cs.uiuc.edu (Dennis Mickunas) (2001-11-08)
Table compression leonardo@dcc.ufmg.br (Leonardo Teixeira Passos) (2005-09-27)
Re: Table compression anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression hannah@schlund.de (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression cleos@nb.sympatico.ca (Cleo Saulnier) (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression Peter_Flass@Yahoo.com (Peter Flass) (2005-10-02)
Re: Table compression paul@parsetec.com (Paul Mann) (2005-10-02)
Re: Table compression cfc@shell01.TheWorld.com (Chris F Clark) (2005-10-03)
Re: Table compression henry@spsystems.net (2005-10-13)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (Anton Ertl)
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 30 Sep 2005 02:01:09 -0400
Organization: Institut fuer Computersprachen, Technische Universitaet Wien
References: 05-09-130
Keywords: practice, bibliography

"Leonardo Teixeira Passos" <leonardo@dcc.ufmg.br> writes:
>I'm looking foward to developing a study on table compression techniques.
...
>Does anyone have a clue as where as to begin?


I found the following paper quite instructive:


@Article{fraser&henry91,
    author = "Christopher W. Fraser and Robert R. Henry",
    title = "Hard-Coding Bottom-Up Code Generation Tables to Save
Time and Space",
    journal = "Software---Practice and Experience",
    year = "1991",
    volume = "21",
    number = "1",
    month = jan,
    pages = "1--12",
    annote = "Describes how to optimize tree parsing automata. Some
of these optimizations nowadays appear to trade too
much time or complexity for space, but others save both
time and space.",
}


- anton
--
M. Anton Ertl
anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at
http://www.complang.tuwien.ac.at/anton/home.html


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.