Table compression

"Leonardo Teixeira Passos" <leonardo@dcc.ufmg.br>
27 Sep 2005 09:46:23 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
table compression rboland@unb.ca (Ralph Boland) (2001-11-04)
Re: table compression Olivier.Ridoux@irisa.fr (Olivier Ridoux) (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression hannah@schlund.de (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression heng@Ag.arizona.edu (Heng Yuan) (2001-11-08)
Re: table compression mickunas@cs.uiuc.edu (Dennis Mickunas) (2001-11-08)
Table compression leonardo@dcc.ufmg.br (Leonardo Teixeira Passos) (2005-09-27)
Re: Table compression anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression hannah@schlund.de (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression cleos@nb.sympatico.ca (Cleo Saulnier) (2005-09-30)
Re: Table compression Peter_Flass@Yahoo.com (Peter Flass) (2005-10-02)
Re: Table compression paul@parsetec.com (Paul Mann) (2005-10-02)
Re: Table compression cfc@shell01.TheWorld.com (Chris F Clark) (2005-10-03)
[1 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: "Leonardo Teixeira Passos" <leonardo@dcc.ufmg.br>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 27 Sep 2005 09:46:23 -0400
Organization: POP-MG/RNP
Keywords: question, comment

I'm looking foward to developing a study on table compression techniques.


When browsing the Web, I haven't found any recent articles (at least from
the last decade).


Does anyone have a clue as where as to begin?
[Since computer memories have gotten so big, does anyone care about
table compression any more? When your whole compiler had to fit into
64K, compressing a few K out of the table was a big deal. But now, a
typical Windows program has a megabyte of unused libraries that aren't
work stripping out, so why waste time with the tables? Well, unless
you're squeezing it into an embedded chip, but even they have a lot
more memory than they used to. -John]


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.