Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers.

anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (Anton Ertl)
3 Apr 2006 01:40:37 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Graph coloring and JIT compilers. julian_solo13@hotmail.com (Poseidon13) (2006-03-29)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. dnovillo@redhat.com (Diego Novillo) (2006-04-01)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. aghuloum@cs.indiana.edu (Abdulaziz Ghuloum) (2006-04-01)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. bonzini@gnu.org (Paolo Bonzini) (2006-04-01)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. torbenm@app-4.diku.dk (2006-04-03)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. richard@imagecraft.com (Richard) (2006-04-03)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. oliverhunt@gmail.com (oliverhunt@gmail.com) (2006-04-03)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (2006-04-03)
Graph coloring and JIT compilers. inderaj@gmail.com (Inderaj Bains) (2006-04-03)
Re: Graph coloring and JIT compilers. anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (2006-04-08)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (Anton Ertl)
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 3 Apr 2006 01:40:37 -0400
Organization: Institut fuer Computersprachen, Technische Universitaet Wien
References: 06-03-097
Keywords: Java, optimize

"Poseidon13" <julian_solo13@hotmail.com> writes:
> In a Java Just-In-Time compiler(JIT) it is essential to minimise the time
>spent on code generation. Is graph coloring a good approach to register
>allocation in a JIT?
>
>I would say no because although graph colouring is an efficient technique it
>does however take a rather long time to perform the register allocation.


Well, the Sun HotSpot JIT (don't know whether the server VM, client
VM, or both) uses graph colouring.


Also, at CC a few days ago I heard that the Jikes RVM contains two
JITs; for historical reasons, the faster JIT (that generates slower
code) uses graph colouring, and the slower JIT (that generates faster
code) uses linear scan register allocation.


I guess you can answer the question either way, just use the right
arguments to support your position.


- anton
--
M. Anton Ertl
anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at
http://www.complang.tuwien.ac.at/anton/home.html



Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.