Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency

Jeff Kenton <jeffrey.kenton@comcast.net>
9 May 2005 22:33:01 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Dynamic Typing Efficiency clearm@comcast.net (2005-05-08)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency bobduff@shell01.TheWorld.com (Robert A Duff) (2005-05-08)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency luke@iogopro.co.uk (Luke McCarthy) (2005-05-08)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency gah@ugcs.caltech.edu (glen herrmannsfeldt) (2005-05-08)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency loic@fejoz.net (Yermat) (2005-05-09)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency mailbox@dmitry-kazakov.de (Dmitry A. Kazakov) (2005-05-09)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency eliotm@pacbell.net (Eliot Miranda) (2005-05-09)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency jeffrey.kenton@comcast.net (Jeff Kenton) (2005-05-09)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency clearm@comcast.net (2005-05-13)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency alexc@TheWorld.com (Alex Colvin) (2005-05-13)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency calumg@onetel.com (Calum Grant) (2005-05-13)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency angray@beeb.net (Aaron Gray) (2005-05-16)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2005-05-18)
Re: Dynamic Typing Efficiency jeffrey.kenton@comcast.net (Jeff Kenton) (2005-05-22)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Jeff Kenton <jeffrey.kenton@comcast.net>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 9 May 2005 22:33:01 -0400
Organization: Compilers Central
References: 05-05-041
Keywords: types, interpreter

One other approach not yet mentioned is to do static analysis where
possible, so that you can avoid runtime type checking when it's not
necessary.


clearm@comcast.net wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I am writing a small, python-like scripting language that uses dynamic
> typing. I am also writing a stack-based virtual machine to go with
> it.
>
> I have read many papers and posts about improving the efficiency of
> VMs - for example by using threaded dispatch instead of switch
> statements.
>
> The problem I have is that dynamic typing seems to be extremely
> inefficient when you have a large number of types. For example, if I
> have integers, doubles, strings, booleans, and various compound types,
> then an ADD instruction would have to look like this:


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.