2nd CFP: ASIAN98 (Philippines, Dec 98)

ohori@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp (Atsushi Ohori)
9 Jun 1998 11:57:06 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
2nd CFP: ASIAN98 (Philippines, Dec 98) ohori@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp (1998-06-09)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: ohori@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp (Atsushi Ohori)
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Followup-To: poster
Date: 9 Jun 1998 11:57:06 -0400
Organization: Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto, Japan.
Keywords: CFP, conference

Call for Papers

Asian Computing Science Conference (ASIAN 98)

Manila, The Philippines, December 8--10, 1998

Conference Web Page: http://www.csie.ntu.edu.tw/~asian98

                    Paper submission deadline June 27, 1998

The series of annual Asian Computing Science Conferences (ASIAN) was
started in 1995 to provide a forum for researchers in computer science
from the Asian region and to promote interaction with researchers from
other regions. The first three conferences were held, respectively, in
Bangkok, Singapore, and Katmandu. In addition to sponsorship from the
host countries, they were also held in partnership with INRIA, France,
and the UNU/IIST, Macau. The proceedings were published as Lecture
Notes in Computer Science 1023, 1179, and 1345 from Springer-Verlag.

Although the scope of the conferences was a broad coverage of Computer
Science, there was a focus on the more theoretical areas of
algorithms, programming, concurrency and parallelism, networking and
security. The 1998 conference will continue to emphasize the
conceptual areas of Computer Science, though papers in all areas will
be considered. The following themes represent the areas of focus for
this year:

  * Formal Reasoning and Verification
  * Programming Languages
  * Data and Knowledge Representation
  * Networking and Web Computing

We solicit submissions on original research not published or submitted for
publication elsewhere. Submission procedure is described below.

The proceedings are expected to be published by Springer-Verlag in the
LNCS series. Plans are also being made to publish a special issue, in
an international journal, of papers selected from ASIAN'98. In
addition to regular papers, we hope to accept posters, which will
appear as two-page abstracts in the proceedings. Papers and posters
must be presented at the conference by one of the authors.

Steering Committee:

    Zhou Chaochen (UNU/IIST, Macau) Shigeki Goto (Waseda U., Japan)
    Joxan Jaffar (NUS, Singapore) Gilles Kahn (INRIA, France)
    Kanchana Kanchanasut (AIT, Thailand) Jean-Jacques Levy (INRIA, France)
    R.K. Shyamasundar (TIFR Bombay, India) Kazunori Ueda (Waseda U., Japan)

Program Co-Chairs:

    Jieh Hsiang Atsushi Ohori
    Department of Computer Science Research Inst. for Mathematical Sciences
    National Taiwan University Kyoto University
    Taipei, Taiwan Kitashirakawa-Oiwakecho
    Phone: +886-2-2362-2704 Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8502 Japan
    Fax: +886-2-2365-8741 Phone: +81-75-753-7222
    e-mail: hsiang@csie.ntu.edu.tw Fax: +81-75-753-7272
     e-mail: ohori@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Program Committee:

    Eliezer A. Albacea (UP, Philippines)
    Juergen Avenhaus (U. Keiserslautern, Germany)
    Arbee L.P. Chen (NTHU, Taiwan)
    Hubert Comon (ENS Cachan, France)
    Nachum Dershowitz (UI, USA)
    Xiaoshan Gao (CAS, China)
    Georges Gonthier (INRIA, France)
    Jieh Hsiang (co-chair) (NTU, Taiwan)
    Kohei Honda (U. Edinburgh, UK)
    Oscar Ibarra (UCSB, USA)
    Tomasz Janowski (UNU/IIST, Macau)
    Deepak Kapur (SUNY Albany, USA)
    Claude Kirchner (INRIA, France)
    Chidchanok Lursinsap (Chula/AIT, Thailand)
    Michael Maher (Griffith U., Australia)
    Greg Morrisett (Cornell U., USA)
    Bobby Achirul Awal Nazief (UI, Indonesia)
    Tobias Nipkow (TU Munchen, Germany)
    Atsushi Ohori (co-chair) (Kyoto U., Japan)
    Beng Chin Ooi (NUS, Singapore)
    H.N. Phien (AIT, Thailand)
    G. Sivakumar (IIT Bombay, India)
    John Slaney (ANU, Australia)
    Scott Smolka (SUNY Stony Brook, USA)
    P.S. Thiagarajan (SMI,Chennai,India)
    Yoshito Toyama (JAIST, Japan)
    Roland H. C. Yap (NUS, Singapore)
    Hsu-Chun Yen (NTU, Taiwan)
    Jerome Yen (HKU, HK)
    Kwangkeun Yi (KAIST, Korea)

Local Arrangement Chair:

    Jonathan Dayao (DLSU, Philipines)
    e-mail: ccsjekd@dlsu.edu.ph

Important Dates:

    Paper submission deadline June 27, 1998
    Acceptance decisions August 17, 1998
    Camera-ready copy due September 11, 1998
    ASIAN98 Conference December 8--10, 1998

Paper Submission Procedure:

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts by e-mail in a self-contained
PostScript file (gzipped and uuencoded), complemented by one hard copy sent to
Atsushi Ohori.

The length guidelines are 10--12 pages in 11-point font and 3000 words.
In addition, a separate e-mail message should be sent containing the
paper title and a 150-word abstract, authors, keywords, postal address,
e-mail address and fax number. E-mail submissions should be sent to both

      asian98@csie.ntu.edu.tw and asian98@kurims.kyoto-u.ac.jp

If e-mail is not available, five hard copies and the above coversheet
information should be sent to Atsushi Ohori.

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.