Submission deadline for POPL 95 approaches (San Francisco, 1/95) (Ron Cytron)
Tue, 12 Jul 1994 23:55:41 GMT

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Submission deadline for POPL 95 approaches (San Francisco, 1/95) (1994-07-12)
| List of all articles for this month |

Newsgroups: comp.compilers
From: (Ron Cytron)
Keywords: conference, CFP
Organization: Washington University in St. Louis
Date: Tue, 12 Jul 1994 23:55:41 GMT

Note that the submission deadline for POPL '95 is approaching:
submissions are to be received by Peter Lee at CMU by 22 July.

The call for papers appears below.

    Ron Cytron
    General Chair
    POPL '95

                                                      Call for Papers
                      The 22nd Annual ACM SIGPLAN-SIGACT Symposium on
                                  Principles Of Programming Languages

                                            San Francisco, California
                                                  January 23-25, 1995

The twenty-second symposium on Principles of Programming Languages will
provide a forum for discussion of principles, innovations, and
accomplishments in the design, definition, analysis, and implementation of
programming languages and systems. Reports on experiences with the
application or use of such principles and innovations are encouraged.
Papers presented at the symposium must describe work that has not
previously been published or presented in any major or widely disseminated

The program committee welcomes papers on a diversity of topics,
particularly those that pioneer new directions. The symposium is not
limited to topics discussed in previous symposia nor to formal approaches.
Authors concerned about the appropriateness of a topic may consult with
the program chair prior to submission.

Authors should submit 14 copies (printed double-sided if possible) of a
technical summary of a prospective paper to the program chair. The length
of the summary must not exceed 5000 words, excluding bibliography and
figures. The summary should be formatted single-column with a font size no
smaller than 11pt, normal interline spacing, and at least one-inch
margins. Thus, most summaries should fit comfortably within 12 pages.
The program chair will either reject or arbitrarily truncate all
excessively long summaries.

The summary should explain the contribution of the paper, both in gen-
eral and in technical terms. It is important to identify what has been
accomplished, to explain why it is significant, and to compare with
previous work. Papers will be judged on originality, significance,
correctness, and clarity. Authors should make every effort to make the
technical content of their papers understandable to a broad audience.
Authors are strongly encouraged to read the specific suggestions for
writing summaries, available in a file called suggestions which resides
in a directory established for conference-related announcements: This information is also available on
the world-wide web via Mosaic:

Submissions must be received by July 22, 1994. They should include a
return postal address and an electronic mail address (if available).
Authors will be notified of the acceptance or rejection of their papers
by September 19, 1994. Full versions of the accepted papers must be
received in camera-ready form by October 24, 1994. Authors of accepted
papers will be required to sign ACM copyright release forms. Proceedings
will be distributed at the conference and subsequently will be available
for purchase from ACM Press.

        Program Chair General Chair

  Peter Lee ( Ron Cytron (

    Carnegie Mellon University Washington University
    School of Computer Science Dept. of Computer Science
    8119 Wean Hall Campus Box 1045
    5000 Forbes Avenue One Brookings Drive
    Pittsburgh, PA 15213 St. Louis, MO 63130
    (412) 268-3049 (314) 935--7527

                              Program Committee
Rance Cleaveland North Carolina State University
Radhia Cousot Ecole Polytechnique
Carl A. Gunter University of Pennsylvania
Fritz Henglein University of Copenhagen
Joxan Jaffar IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Simon Peyton Jones Glasgow University
Samuel Kamin University of Illinois
Peter Lee Carnegie Mellon University
John Reppy AT&T Bell Laboratories
Barbara G. Ryder Rutgers University
David Ungar Sun Microsystems Labs, Inc.
Mitchell Wand Northeastern University
Daniel Weise Microsoft Research


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.