Re: Questions about Bytecode

"Andy Johnson" <ajohnson@mathworks.com>
23 Apr 2007 07:49:29 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Questions about Bytecode Sean.D.Gillespie@gmail.com (Bison) (2007-04-18)
Re: Questions about Bytecode englere_geo@yahoo.com (Eric) (2007-04-19)
Re: Questions about Bytecode DrDiettrich1@aol.com (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2007-04-19)
Re: Questions about Bytecode cfc@shell01.TheWorld.com (Chris F Clark) (2007-04-19)
Re: Questions about Bytecode Sean.D.Gillespie@gmail.com (Bison) (2007-04-20)
Re: Questions about Bytecode anton@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (2007-04-23)
Re: Questions about Bytecode ajohnson@mathworks.com (Andy Johnson) (2007-04-23)
Re: Questions about Bytecode DrDiettrich1@aol.com (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2007-04-23)
Re: Questions about Bytecode haberg@math.su.se (2007-04-23)
Re: Questions about Bytecode chris.dollin@hp.com (Chris Dollin) (2007-04-23)
Re: Questions about Bytecode gah@ugcs.caltech.edu (glen herrmannsfeldt) (2007-04-25)
Re: Questions about Bytecode Peter_Flass@Yahoo.com (Peter Flass) (2007-04-26)
Re: Questions about Bytecode cdiggins@gmail.com (Christopher Diggins) (2007-04-26)
[1 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: "Andy Johnson" <ajohnson@mathworks.com>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 23 Apr 2007 07:49:29 -0400
Organization: The MathWorks, Inc.
References: 07-04-06107-04-068 07-04-071
Keywords: interpreter, Java

To answer your question about labels, they aren't implemented in the Java
bytecode at all. Label points are derived from destinations of branch
points. If you need to know which bytecodes are reachable via branching,
you have to synthesize the bytecodes. Since you know the size of the
bytecodes in advance, you can easily create a bitmap to show the label
points.


-AndyJ


"Bison" <Sean.D.Gillespie@gmail.com> wrote in message


> I'm also wondering how labels are implemented in the bytecode.
>



Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.