Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers

"napi" <napi@axiomsol.com>
28 Sep 2006 22:50:13 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers samhng@gmail.com (=?iso-8859-1?B?bW9vcJk=?=) (2006-09-25)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers DrDiettrich1@aol.com (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2006-09-26)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers snicol@apk.net (Scott Nicol) (2006-09-26)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers DrDiettrich1@aol.com (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2006-09-26)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers tom@infoether.com (Tom Copeland) (2006-09-28)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers napi@axiomsol.com (napi) (2006-09-28)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers rmathew@gmail.com (Ranjit Mathew) (2006-09-28)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers martin_filteau@yahoo.ca (Martin Filteau) (2006-09-28)
Re: Parser Generated vs. Hand Written Parsers spamers.sollen.sterben@cablenet.de (VergissMeinNicht) (2006-09-28)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: "napi" <napi@axiomsol.com>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 28 Sep 2006 22:50:13 -0400
Organization: Compilers Central
References: 06-09-138
Keywords: parse

moop™ wrote:
> Hi,
> PGs have a great convenince over hand written parsers, but they also
> slow in speed and hard to read the generated code. I wonder besides
> these two obvious factors, what else hand written parsers are better
> than PGs? Thank you!


Write hand-crafted parsers if:


a) time is on your side;
b) you want to see for yourself how your top-down grammar and its
      First, Follow, and Generator sets work;
c) you want to speed up the resulting code somewhat, but with
      today's computer speed this is becoming negligible.


Otherwise, it would make more sense to learn how to use a parser
generator for this purpose.


Napi



Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.