Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design

Kai Koehne <transp.3.kkoehne@spamgourmet.org>
12 Mar 2006 13:55:39 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Looking for papers/book on the art of language design kszabo@bcml120x.ca.nortel.com (2006-03-11)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design rjshaw@netspace.net.au (Russell Shaw) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design transp.3.kkoehne@spamgourmet.org (Kai Koehne) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design m_bibby@hotmail.com (Mike Bibby) (2006-03-14)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design claus.reinke@talk21.com (Claus Reinke) (2006-03-15)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design jthorn@aei.mpg.de (Jonathan Thornburg) (2006-04-08)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design slogan621@gmail.com (2006-04-09)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design kszabo@nortel.com (2006-04-16)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Kai Koehne <transp.3.kkoehne@spamgourmet.org>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 12 Mar 2006 13:55:39 -0500
Organization: Compilers Central
References: 06-03-029
Keywords: design

Hi,


I would say designing a language is a kind of black art that cannot be
daught in a tutorial. Sir Tony Hoare is always an invaluable source for
citings. Read for instance "Hints for Programming Language Design" and
"The Emperors Old Clothes". Finkel's "Advanced Programming Language
Design" (also available online) has also a list of properties a GPL
should have. However, the design of a language depends heavily on the
application domain (even for GPLs).


Regards,


Kai Koehne


Kevin Szabo schrieb:
> Does anyone have a reference to a tutorial or explanation of how a
> modern language is designed; I'm specifically thinking of application
> specific languages but pointers to discussions about designing general
> purpose languages are welcome. ...


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.