Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design

Hans-Peter Diettrich <DrDiettrich@compuserve.de>
12 Mar 2006 13:54:51 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Looking for papers/book on the art of language design kszabo@bcml120x.ca.nortel.com (2006-03-11)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design rjshaw@netspace.net.au (Russell Shaw) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design transp.3.kkoehne@spamgourmet.org (Kai Koehne) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design m_bibby@hotmail.com (Mike Bibby) (2006-03-14)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design claus.reinke@talk21.com (Claus Reinke) (2006-03-15)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design jthorn@aei.mpg.de (Jonathan Thornburg) (2006-04-08)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design slogan621@gmail.com (2006-04-09)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design kszabo@nortel.com (2006-04-16)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Hans-Peter Diettrich <DrDiettrich@compuserve.de>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 12 Mar 2006 13:54:51 -0500
Organization: Compilers Central
References: 06-03-029
Keywords: design

Kevin Szabo wrote:
>
> Does anyone have a reference to a tutorial or explanation of how a
> modern language is designed; I'm specifically thinking of application
> specific languages but pointers to discussions about designing general
> purpose languages are welcome.


Your question IMO is equivalent to "How to construct the user
interface for a 'modern' program". What shall the user (or programmer)
be allowed to do, what input is required in which cases, and how to
parse and validate the input.


DoDi
[Indeed. Any suggestions? -John]



Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.