Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design

Russell Shaw <rjshaw@netspace.net.au>
12 Mar 2006 13:54:26 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Looking for papers/book on the art of language design kszabo@bcml120x.ca.nortel.com (2006-03-11)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design rjshaw@netspace.net.au (Russell Shaw) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design transp.3.kkoehne@spamgourmet.org (Kai Koehne) (2006-03-12)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design m_bibby@hotmail.com (Mike Bibby) (2006-03-14)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design claus.reinke@talk21.com (Claus Reinke) (2006-03-15)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design jthorn@aei.mpg.de (Jonathan Thornburg) (2006-04-08)
Re: Looking for papers/book on the art of language design slogan621@gmail.com (2006-04-09)
[1 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Russell Shaw <rjshaw@netspace.net.au>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 12 Mar 2006 13:54:26 -0500
Organization: Compilers Central
References: 06-03-029
Keywords: design

Kevin Szabo wrote:
> Does anyone have a reference to a tutorial or explanation of how a
> modern language is designed; I'm specifically thinking of application
> specific languages but pointers to discussions about designing general
> purpose languages are welcome.
>
> I have seen a lot of discussion about the compilers for languages, and
> a number of small iterative improvements on languages (or
> non-improvements as the ALGOL68 detractors would state), but I haven't
> seen a nice essay on how a major delta to a language would be created.


Google "domain specific languages" and "extension languages".


Language design is mostly the designers imagination, combined with
ideas from existing languages. The implementation details come from
compiler books. Have a look at "Programming Language Pragmatics".


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1558604421/102-1390345-7037706?v=glance&n=283155


Also google for lisp/lua and others.


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.