Re: Parsing Expression Grammar

Cleo Saulnier <cleos@nb.sympatico.ca>
22 Sep 2005 23:40:50 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
[14 earlier articles]
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2005-09-14)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar gneuner2@comcast.net (George Neuner) (2005-09-14)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar Meyer-Eltz@t-online.de (Detlef Meyer-Eltz) (2005-09-14)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar cleos@nb.sympatico.ca (Cleo Saulnier) (2005-09-17)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2005-09-17)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar Meyer-Eltz@t-online.de (Detlef Meyer-Eltz) (2005-09-18)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar cleos@nb.sympatico.ca (Cleo Saulnier) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar schmitz@i3s.unice.fr (Sylvain Schmitz) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar schmitz@i3s.unice.fr (Sylvain Schmitz) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar rsc@swtch.com (Russ Cox) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar cfc@shell01.TheWorld.com (Chris F Clark) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar schmitz@i3s.unice.fr (Sylvain Schmitz) (2005-09-22)
Re: Parsing Expression Grammar paul@parsetec.com (Paul Mann) (2005-09-22)
[7 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Cleo Saulnier <cleos@nb.sympatico.ca>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 22 Sep 2005 23:40:50 -0400
Organization: Aliant Internet
References: 05-09-023 05-09-045 05-09-058 05-09-071 05-09-081
Keywords: parse

Detlef Meyer-Eltz wrote:
>>the grammar contortions that are often needed tend to be very ugly.
>> From the two LL parser generators that I wrote, this is what
>> annoyed me the most.
>
>
> I guess with "contortions" you mean the result of factorizing
> tokens out, to make a grammar LL(1) conform. For compiler generators with
> look ahead capabilities as ANTLR, Coco/R or the TextTransformer, this
> isn't necessary any more.


I simply meant that I found myself writing more code in the LL parser
generator (not changing the grammar by hand) to make the grammar
conform. To me, it detracted from the task of generating better code
for the parser.


Cle


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.