Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C

Markus.Elfring@web.de
24 Aug 2005 18:22:37 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C john.carter@tait.co.nz (John Carter) (2005-08-21)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C basile-news@starynkevitch.net (Basile Starynkevitch \[news\]) (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C codeworker@free.fr (=?iso-8859-1?q?C=E9dric_LEMAIRE?=) (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C nmm1@cus.cam.ac.uk (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C Markus.Elfring@web.de (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C DrDiettrich@compuserve.de (Hans-Peter Diettrich) (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C darius@raincode.com (Darius Blasband) (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C aycock@cse.cpsc.ucalgary.ca (John Aycock) (2005-08-24)
Re: Declaration, Definition & Reference listers for C nicola.musatti@gmail.com (Nicola Musatti) (2005-08-24)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Markus.Elfring@web.de
Newsgroups: comp.compilers,comp.lang.c
Date: 24 Aug 2005 18:22:37 -0400
Organization: http://groups.google.com
References: 05-08-075
Keywords: analysis, tools

John Carter wrote:
> I'm interested in the large scale structure of very large programs (1000's
> of files)
>
> So to experiment with this I need to extract every {typedef, struct,
> union, enum, macro, variable and function} {declaration, definition and
> reference} from 1000's of C files.


Did you try a search to find the following tools?
1. http://www.stack.nl/~dimitri/doxygen/docblocks.html
2. http://membres.lycos.fr/hugoyar/c2htmlang.htm
3. http://cscope.sourceforge.net/
4. http://lxr.linux.no/
5. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Static_code_analysis




> Anybody know of a tool to parse standard C and spit out this information?
>
> I would write one myself, but to do it properly I would have to write
> a C preprocessor and most of C compiler.


Would you like to avoid to reinvent the wheel?
I suggest to reuse and improve the existing free software.


Regards,
Markus



Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.