CFP: LCTES 03 (San Diego, June 03)

"Alex Dean" <>
1 Dec 2002 23:01:31 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
CFP: LCTES 03 (San Diego, June 03) (Alex Dean) (2002-12-01)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: "Alex Dean" <>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 1 Dec 2002 23:01:31 -0500
Organization: Compilers Central
Keywords: CFP, conference
Posted-Date: 01 Dec 2002 23:01:31 EST

                                                Call for Papers

                                        ACM SIGPLAN Conference on
      Languages, Compilers, and Tools for Embedded Systems (LCTES'03)
                            (in conjunction with FCRC'03 and PLDI'03)


                                San Diego, California, June 11-13, 2003
                                              Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN



      Papers due: February 1, 2003
      Author notification: April 2, 2003
      Final papers due: April 30, 2003

      A one-week extension for paper submissions is automatically granted
      without any request. All papers must be received by 6 PM EST February
      8 2003. After that no extension will be granted.


As the complexity of the application domains for the embedded systems
increases, new research challenges are encountered for achieving
desired level of performance goals (which could be diverse such as
speed, real time constraints, code size, power, and scalability). Due
to limited resources available locally, embedded systems are
increasingly used in a networked (wired, wireless, as well as mobile)
environment. In addition, using a combination of hardware and software
techniques to solve issues in embedded systems is changing due to
hardware advances. The aim of LCTES is to provide a forum for
discussing the latest research related to the above trends and to
allow researchers and developers working on different aspects to get
together and synergize. Original submissions are invited in all areas
relevant to this theme.


Examples of areas/topics of interest to the conference include
o Program optimization for real-time performance and DSPs
o Compilation for hardware/software co-design
o Compilers for reconfigurable architectures
o Optimization for low-power architectures
o Exploitation of memory hierarchies
o Memory management/garbage collection for embedded systems
o Programming languages for embedded applications
o Real-time and embedded Java, real-time UML
o Object-oriented modeling and design
o Design, specification, analysis of embedded systems
o Software Synthesis
o Validation and verification techniques for embedded software
o Embedded system integration and testing
o Standardization for embedded systems
o Real-time operating systems: environment and tools
o Real-time scheduling analysis
o Exception and interrupt handling for real-time
o Software design for multiprocessor embedded systems
o Concurrent+distributed embedded environments/runtime systems
o Timing analysis: static and dynamic approaches
o Timing predictability of modern architectures
o Support for partitioning, mapping, and compression
o Profiling, measurement, debugging of embedded applications
o Experiences from experimental systems and case studies

Papers should report new research and should not exceed 5000 words
(approximately 20 pages of single-column double-spaced 12 point text),
including figures and references. All accepted papers will be
presented at the conference and published in the proceedings, which
will be distributed at the conference. The proceedings will be
published as an issue of the ACM SIGPLAN Notices. Submissions must be
made electronically through the conference's web page. Papers must be
in PDF or PostScript form, which must be interpretable by
Ghostscript. These are firm constraints; submissions not meeting these
criteria will not be considered. Any problems with submission should
be reported to


This event is sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN.


General Chair: Frank Mueller (
North Carolina State University, US

Program Chair: Per Stenstrom (
Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Publications Chair:
Uli Kremer, Rutgers University, US

Finance Chair:
Annie Liu, SUNY Stony Brook, US

Publicity Chairs:
Alex Dean, North Carolina State University, US
Xin Yuan, Florida State University, US
Guillem Bernat, University of York, U.K.

Web Chairs:
Jens Palsberg, Purdue University, US
Mayur Naik, Purdue University, US

Local Chair:
Tony Givargis, UC Irvine, US


Fred Chow - Key Research Inc. US
Tom Conte - NC State University, US
Fredrik Dahlgren - Ericsson Mobile Platforms, Sweden
Nikil Dutt - UC Irvine, US
Thomas Gross - ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Seongsoo Hong - Seoul National University, Korea
Mary Jane Irwin - Univ. of Pennsylvania, US
Reiner Leupers - Aachen Univ., Germany
Zhiyuan Li - Purdue Univ., US
Yunheung Paek - KAIST, Korea
Ramesh Peri - Intel, US
Carl von Platen - IAR Systems, Sweden
Viktor Prasanna - Univ Southern Calif., US
Peter Puschner - TU Vienna, Austria
Mary Lou Soffa - Univ of Pittsburgh, US
Philip Sweany - Texas Instruments, US
Gang-Ryung Uh - Boise State University, US
Frank Vahid - UC Riverside, US
David Whalley - Florida State University, US

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.