CFP: CASES'02 (deadline June 15) (Grenoble, 10/02) (Frank Mueller)
23 Apr 2002 23:48:34 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
CFP: CASES'02 (deadline June 15) (Grenoble, 10/02) (2002-04-23)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: (Frank Mueller)
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 23 Apr 2002 23:48:34 -0400
Organization: Humboldt University Berlin, Department of Computer Science
Keywords: CFP, conference
Posted-Date: 23 Apr 2002 23:48:34 EDT

                                                      CALL FOR PAPERS

                                                            CASES 2002
                                          International Conference on
          Compilers, Architectures and Synthesis for Embedded Systems


                                                    October 8-11, 2002
                                                      Grenoble, France

                                co-located with EMSOFT 2002 (Oct 7-9)


        Papers due: June 15, 2002
        Author notification: July 12, 2002
        Camera ready copy due: August 5, 2002


We are pleased to announce that CASES 2002 is co-located in Grenoble
with EMSOFT (, the International Workshop
on Embedded Software. The themes of CASES and EMSOFT are
complementary, and collectively cover all aspects of embedded system


Time-to-market has become a crucial objective to embedded system
designers in the context of enabling technologies such as compilation,
novel architectures, synthesis, reconfigurable hardware and others.
In these contexts, much of the successful research so far has been
performed in increasingly specialized research areas localized into
``communities'' working in vertically integrated fields. This working
conference, the fifth in the CASES series, will provide a common
forum for researchers from the computer engineering and science
disciplines with an interest in embedded systems to reach across such
vertically integrated communities and to promote potential synergies.

As evident from the past CASES meetings, several of the emerging
application areas are critically dependent on these interactions for
their sustained growth and evolution. Application areas that embody
application-specific embedded computing include set-top boxes,
hand-held games, mobile and web appliances, advanced automotive
systems, high-performance networking and others. For these areas to
thrive, new technologies must address constraints on cost, code size,
weight, power consumption and real-time response as well as
performance. Concerns of time-to-market are a dominant but not
exclusive theme of the conference.

Technical papers espousing significant novel ideas and technical
results are solicited. Conference topics include (but are not limited
to) the following topics in four tracks:

    1) Compilers and Operating Systems
          * New optimizing compilers for embedded-domain constraints.
          * Light-weight languages for temporal specification.
          * Compiler controlled memory hierarchy management and smart caches.
          * System-on-a-Chip architectures/compilers and embedded software
              including heterogeneous multiprocessor embedded systems.
    2) Architecture
          * Novel architectures and micro-architectures.
          * Synergy between extant parallel computing technologies, such as
              notations for expressing concurrency, and instruction level
              parallel processing.
          * Reconfigurable or adaptive computing systems.
    3) Tools and Methodologies
          * Automated design and synthesis of application- or domain-
              specific processors.
          * Application- or domain-specific embedded system designs
          * Research infrastructure development for embedded systems.
    4) Applications
          * Emerging domains including micro-UAVs and textiles.
          * Wearable computing and/or mobile computing



        * John Rayfield, ARM Ltd.
        * Giovanni De Micheli, Stanford University


Please submit either one electronic copy of the paper in postscript
format to the following email address, or FIVE hard copies to the
program chair at the address given below. There is no page limit, but
the paper must not exceed 4000 words in length. The proceedings will
be published by ACM Press. All papers must be submitted in the ACM
format as specified at

Submission web site:
Inquiries about the submission process:


Proposals are solicited for both embedded and half day tutotials.
Embedded tutorial proposals should follow the same format as a regular
paper. Half day tutorial proposals should not exceed 4 pages and
should describe the topics to be covered as well as intended
audience. Interested individuals are invited to submit proposals to
the Tutorial Chair, X. Sharon Hu ( The deadline is
June 15, 2002.


        Steering Committee:

                Guang R. Gao, University of Delaware
                Vinod Kathail, Hewlett-Packard Labs
                Edward Lee, University of California Berkeley
                Jaime Moreno, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
                Krishna V. Palem, Georgia Institute of Technology
                Wayne Wolf, Princeton University

        General Co-Chairs:

                Shuvra S. Bhattacharyya, University of Maryland
                Trevor Mudge, University of Michigan

        Program Co-Chairs:

                Wayne Wolf, Princeton University
                Ahmed Jerraya, TIMA, Grenoble, France

        Coordination Vice-Chair:

                Bruce Jacob, University of Maryland

        Tutorial Chairs:

                X. Sharon Hu, University of Notre Dame
                Joerg Henkel, NEC

        Publications Vice-Chair:

                Jack Davidson, University of Virginia

        Publicity Vice-Chair:

                Frank Mueller, North Carolina State University


                Luciano Lavagno, University of Udine/Cadence, Italy (for Europe)
                Hiroto Yasuura, Kyushu University, Japan (for Asia)


Applications Subcommittee:
Chair: Mani Srivastava

    Luca Benini, University of Bologna
    Sujit Dey, UCSD
    Marc Engels, IMEC
    Brian Evans, UT Austin
    Rajesh Gupta, UCI
    Paul Lettieri, Broadcom
    Viktor Prasanna, USC
    Asim Smailagic, CMU
    Gaurav Sukhatme, USC
    Ingrid Verbauwhede, UCLA

Compilers and Operating Systems subcommittee:
Chair: Jens Palsberg (

    Rajeev Barua, University of Maryland
    Nikil Dutt, U.C. Irvine
    Rajiv Gupta, University Arizona
    Mahmut Kandemir, Pennsylvania State University
    Jens Palsberg, Purdue University
    Santosh Pande, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Eric Verhulst, Eonic Solutions, Germany

Tools and Methodology subcommittee:
Chair: Jan Madsen (

    Axel Jantsch, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
    Petru Eles, Linkoping University, Linkoping, Sweden
    J. Teich, Universitaet Paderborn, Paderborn, Germany
    Frank Vahid, University of California, Riverside
    Joerg Henkel, NEC
    Pai H. Chou, UC Irvine
    Wolfgang Rosenstiel, Eberhard-Karls-Universitat Tubingen, Germany
    Sri Parameswaran, The University of New South Wales, Australia

Architecture subcommittee:
Chair: Scott Mahlke (

    Shail Aditya, HP
    Henk Corporaal, IMEC
    Carl Ebeling, Washington
    Paolo Faraboschi, HP
    Mary Jane Irwin, Penn St.
    Bill Mangionne-Smith, UCLA
    Trevor Mudge, Michigan
    Herman Schmidt, CMU

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.