6th Working Conference on Reverse Engineering (WCRE'99) cfp

Francoise Balmas <fb@ai.univ-paris8.fr>
9 Mar 1999 11:50:12 -0500

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
6th Working Conference on Reverse Engineering (WCRE'99) cfp fb@ai.univ-paris8.fr (Francoise Balmas) (1999-03-09)
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Francoise Balmas <fb@ai.univ-paris8.fr>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 9 Mar 1999 11:50:12 -0500
Organization: Dept Informatique
Keywords: conference, CFP

                                                              Call for Papers

                                6th Working Conference on Reverse Engineering

                                            October 6th - October 8th, 1999
                                                        Atlanta, Georgia USA




The Working Conference on Reverse Engineering (WCRE) is the premier
research-oriented conference dedicated to the theory and practice of
recovering knowledge from existing source code and related documents.
The purpose of WCRE is to explore innovative methods of extraction,
representation, and use of this knowledge.


Topics of WCRE'99 include, but are not limited to, the following
directions in reverse engineering:

      * Program understanding
      * Software evolution and reengineering
      * Year 2000 and Euro reengineering and related issues
      * Integration of reverse engineering and forward engineering
      * Data reengineering
      * Techniques, tools, and enabling technologies for reengineering, reverse
          engineering, renovation, reuse, and migration
      * Code-based management systems to support reverse engineering
      * Formal methods in reverse engineering
      * Domain modeling to support reverse engineering
      * Wrapping and interfacing legacy systems
      * User interface reengineering
      * Reverse engineering from binaries rather than source
      * Software visualization
      * Empirical studies of software and evolution histories
      * Reengineering patterns
      * Reengineering economics
      * Experience reports (successes and failures) on reverse engineering or
          reengineering efforts


Papers should describe original and significant work in the research
and practice of reverse engineering. Papers should be limited to 10
proceedings pages, at most 6000 words. Papers must not have been
previously published nor have been submitted to, or be in
consideration for, any journal, book, or other conference. All papers
should explicitly state the goals of tools or approaches described and
should use accepted, standard terminology (ref. IEEE Software,
January 1990; see the on-line reverse engineering taxonomy for more
detail). Authors are requested to explicitly present their validation
for any ideas or tools they are presenting. At least one author of
each accepted paper must attend the conference.

WCRE'99 strongly encourages electronic submissions. To submit a paper,
please send an electronic mail message to wcre-submit@cc.gatech.edu.
Please, do not include the paper in the message. By return mail you
will receive instructions on how to ftp your submission.

Papers should be in the IEEE proceedings format and sent as a single
Postscript file that conforms to the IEEE Postscript submission
guidelines (LaTeX users should use the standand IEEE proceedings
format style file). Contact one of the Program Chairs before sending
other file types.

All submissions must be viewable and printable with Ghostview, version

WCRE is a discussion-oriented working conference. Paper presentations
have a strict time limit (20 minutes each), followed by open joint
discussion of the topic area and several papers presented.


Deadline for papers: April 30, 1999
Notification of acceptance: June 18, 1999
Camera ready copies due: July 16, 1999


WCRE 99 is sponsored by:

      * IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Reverse Engineering
      * Reengineering Forum


Proceedings of the Working Conference will be published by IEEE
Computer Society Press. Earlier WCRE proceedings are available from
IEEE (cs.books@computer.org; phone +1-714-821-8380 or
+1-800-CS-BOOKS). Orders can also be made on the World Wide Web at
the IEEE Catalog site.

General Co-Chairs:

Melody Moore(melody@gsu.edu)
Computer Information Systems Department
College of Business Administration
Georgia State University
Atlanta, Georgia 30392
Phone : +1 404-651-0878

Linda Wills (linda@ece.gatech.edu)
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0250
Phone: +1 404-894-4565

Program Chairs:

Franoise Balmas (fb@ai.univ-paris8.fr)
Universit Paris 8
Dpt. Informatique, Labo IA
2, rue de la Libert
93526 Saint-Denis Cedex
Tl : (+33) 1 49 40 64 97

Michael Blaha (blaha@computer.org)
OMT Associates Inc.
15348 Grantley Dr.
Chesterfield, MO 63017 USA
Phone: +1 314-536-3020

Spencer Rugaber (spencer@cc.gatech.edu)
College of Computing
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0280
Phone: +1 404-894-8450


Elliot Chikofsky (e.chikofsky@computer.org)
META Group
75 Lexington Street
Burlington, MA 01803 USA
Phone: +1 781-272-0049

Program Committee:

Peter Aiken, (paiken@acm.org), Virginia Commonwealth University, USA
Giuliano Antoniol, (antoniol@irst.itc.it), Instituto per la Ricerca
Scientifica e Tecnologica, Italy
Paul A Bailes, (paul@cs.uq.edu.au), University of Queensland, Australia
Ger Bakker (gbakker@triloc.com), TriLoc Software Engineering, The
Tom Ball, (tball@bell-labs.com), Lucent Technologies, USA
Ira D. Baxter, (idbaxter@semdesigns.com), Semantic Designs, USA
Hee Beng Kuan Tan, (ibktan@ntu.edu.sg), Nanyang Technological
University, Singapore
Liz Burd, (Liz.Burd@durham.ac.uk), University of Durham, UK
Gerardo Canfora, (g.canfora@unina.it), University of Salerno, Italy
S. Jerome Carriere, (sjc@sei.cmu.edu), Software Engineering Institute,
Doris L. Carver, (carver@bit.csc.lsu.edu), Lousiana State University,
Yih-Farn Chen, (chen@research.att.com), Lucent Technologies, USA
Cristina Cifuentes, (cristina@csee.uq.edu.au), University of Queensland,
Aniello Cimitile, (cimijsm@unina.it), University of Salerno, Italy
James H. Cross II, (cross@eng.auburn.edu), Auburn University, USA
Arie Van Deursen, (arie@cwi.nl), CWI, The Netherlands
Premkumar Devanbu, (devanbu@cs.ucdavis.edu), University of California,
Davis, USA
David Eichmann, (eichmann@rbse.jsc.nasa.gov), University of
Houston-Clear Lake, USA
Harald Gall, (H.Gall@infosys.tuwien.ac.at), Vienna University of
Technology, Austria
Gerald Gannod, (gannod@asu.edu), Arizona State University, USA
Jean-Francois Girard, (girard@iese.fhg.de), Fraunhofer IESE, Germany
Jean-Luc Hainaut, (jlhainaut@info.fundp.ac.be), University of Namur,
John Hartman, (jhartman@acm.org), Ohio State University, USA
Dean Hendrix, (hendrix@eng.auburn.edu), Auburn University, USA
Ric Holt, (holt@uwaterloo.ca), University of Waterloo, Canada
W. Lewis Johnson, (johnson@isi.edu), USC Information Sciences Institute,
Kostas Kontogiannis, (kostas@swen.uwaterloo.ca), University of Waterloo,
Panagiotis Linos (linos@csc.tntech.edu), Tennessee Tech University, USA
Paulo Cesar Masiero, (masiero@icmc.sc.usp.br), Instituto de Cincias
Matemticas e de Computao, Brazil
Anneliese von Mayrhauser, (avm@cs.colostate.edu), Colorado State
University USA
Ettore M. Merlo, (merlo@rgl.polymtl.ca), Ecole Polytechnique, Canada
Hausi A. Muller, (hausi@csr.uvic.ca), University of Victoria, Canada
Liam O'Brien, (obrien@cmis.csiro.au), International Management
Resources, Inc., Australia
Jeff Offutt, (ofut@gmuvax2.gmu.edu), George Mason University, USA
Mike Olsem, (molsem@networkiowa.com), USA
Vaclav Rajlich, (vtr@cs.wayne.edu), Wayne State University, USA
Harry Sneed, (100276@compuserve.com), Software Engineering Service,
Perdita Stevens, (Perdita.Stevens@dcs.ed.ac.uk), University of
Edinborough, Scotland
Margaret-Anne Storey, (mstorey@csr.uvic.ca), University of Victoria,
Kurt Stirewalt, (stire@cps.msu.edu), Michigan State University, USA
Scott R. Tilley, (stilley@cs.ucr.edu), University of California,
Riverside, USA
Chris Verhoef, (x@wins.uva.nl), University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Giuseppe Visaggio, (visaggio@di.uniba.it), University of Bari, Italy
Harald Vogt, (vogt@serc.nl), Software Engineering Research Center, The
Mark L. Wilson, (wilson@cs.umbc.edu), Naval Surface Warfare Center, USA
Steven Woods, (sgw@sei.cmu.edu), Software Engineering Institute, USA
Hongji Yang, (hjy@dmu.ac.uk), De Montfort University, UK

WCRE Steering Committee:

Elliot Chikofsky, META Group, USA
James Cross, Auburn University, USA
Melody Moore, Georgia State University, USA
Alex Quilici, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
Chris Verhoef, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Linda Wills, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.