Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort

Alex Colvin <alexc@TheWorld.com>
31 Aug 2006 15:38:40 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
[2 earlier articles]
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort H.T.de.Beer@gmail.com (HT de Beer) (2006-08-18)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort Juergen.Kahrs@vr-web.de (=?ISO-8859-1?Q?J=FCrgen_Kahrs?=) (2006-08-18)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort H.T.de.Beer@gmail.com (HT de Beer) (2006-08-18)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort henry@spsystems.net (2006-08-18)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort p_ludemann@yahoo.com (Peter Ludemann) (2006-08-29)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort ArarghMail608@Arargh.com (2006-08-30)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort alexc@TheWorld.com (Alex Colvin) (2006-08-31)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort henry@spsystems.net (2006-09-11)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort Peter_Flass@Yahoo.com (Peter Flass) (2006-09-11)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort cbarron413@adelphia.net (Carl Barron) (2006-09-12)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort gah@ugcs.caltech.edu (glen herrmannsfeldt) (2006-09-12)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort ArarghMail609@Arargh.com (2006-09-12)
Re: The History of the ALGOL Effort gah@ugcs.caltech.edu (glen herrmannsfeldt) (2006-09-12)
[3 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Alex Colvin <alexc@TheWorld.com>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 31 Aug 2006 15:38:40 -0400
Organization: The World : www.TheWorld.com : Since 1989
References: 06-08-082 06-08-086 06-08-105 06-08-138
Keywords: algol60, history
Posted-Date: 31 Aug 2006 15:38:40 EDT



>As a separate question, has anyone run across the language "Mary"? (I
>think that's the name) ... it was PL360-ish, but with more of an
>Algol-68 flavour, and - if I recall correctly - would have been a worthy
>competitor to C++. I think it was written up in SIGPLAN Notices in the
>70s, but I've long ago lost my old journals.


Norwegian alternative to revised Algol68? No operator precedence,
assignments went left-to-right
1 := I


January 1973 SIGPLAN notices.


--
mac the naf


Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.