XPL Language

Peter Flass <flass@Leginfo.LBDC.State.NY.US>
30 Jun 2000 01:01:36 -0400

          From comp.compilers

Related articles
XPL Language flass@Leginfo.LBDC.State.NY.US (Peter Flass) (2000-06-30)
Re: XPL Language imdave@mcs.net (Dave Bodenstab) (2000-07-01)
Re: XPL Language sander@haldjas.folklore.ee (Sander Vesik) (2000-07-18)
Re: XPL Language joachim.durchholz@halstenbach.com (Joachim Durchholz) (2000-07-23)
Re: XPL Language pld@fc.hp.com (2000-07-27)
Re: XPL Language andyj@mc.com (Andy Johnson) (2000-08-04)
Re: XPL Language ab528@freenet.carleton.ca (2000-08-04)
[4 later articles]
| List of all articles for this month |

From: Peter Flass <flass@Leginfo.LBDC.State.NY.US>
Newsgroups: comp.compilers
Date: 30 Jun 2000 01:01:36 -0400
Organization: Compilers Central
Keywords: PL/I, history, comment

A web site has been established for material related to the XPL
programming language at:

XPL, developed in the 1970's was one of the earliest "compiler
compilers", was widely ported, and was the basis for a number of other
languages such as the PL/M family.

Since the heyday of XPL preceeded the Internet most of the material
and sources for XPL are not generally available. The page contains a
couple of links to material I could find. I would be interested in
obtaining links, etc. to other materials.

In particular, a FreeBSD port to Intel architecture was apparently done,
but the sources seem to be no longer available. Also if anyone has a
complete version of the original IBM 360 package I would be interested.
Any other XPL-related material is welcome.

Please send e-mail to: Peter_Flass@Yahoo.com
[It was kind of a cool language, the predecessor of PLS that IBM used to
write a lot of their system software. -John]

Post a followup to this message

Return to the comp.compilers page.
Search the comp.compilers archives again.